I miss my Dad…

I’m lulling myself to sleep and decided randomly to play Brian Mcknight’s Marry Your Daughter. And now, I’m a crying mess. With all the hagulhol effect. Seriously, what is happening to me?

I’m not even getting married anytime soon. But this song triggered an emotional button and a memory box of my childhood days spent with him. Gaaah. I miss my dad. It made me realize a lot of things I did on my own because I don’t have a dad. I still feel sad that I wasn’t given enough time to be with him because I was 9 and he was 47 when he passed away, way too young if you ask me. I didn’t know how it feels like to be terrified of asking dad if I can go out in a date, to be scolded if I get home late, or drunk, or with a suitor dropping me off. All I know is that I borrowed a classmates’ dad in my COTC graduation. I remember that I cried over an indigenous parol project back in high school because I don’t have a father to do it for me. We weren’t allowed to buy materials so I was crying while cutting a piece of wood. I remember being scared of going to bed and worrying about my mom and my sisters’ security. I remember a lot of things I did on my own because he wasn’t there. I’m not blaming him nor HIM because after all, it’s all according to HIS plan. I was just wondering if I would be the same person that I am now if there’s a father who could have influenced the way I view life.

It’s been 17 years since we lost him, BUT it doesn’t get easier. I do not miss him everyday, but when I do, I feel like the 9 year old kid once more. I cry and cry until the head hurts badly so the missing will stop.

3 responses to “I miss my Dad…

  1. hindi naman. ok lang iyan. ako, heto. lagi nag-OT ti fight depression. hindi naglalabas and I’m limiting my activity in my social networking sites. Trying to blog din. click my name sa comment mo. nakalink doon first post ko. haha.

Leave a comment